Are you ready to upgrade to a new Android smartphone? Are you having problems with your current Android smartphone? These are two good reasons to erase or reset your smartphone. And that’s exactly what we’re going to show you how to do today. Including some things that need to be considered before erasing your phone.

These days, you don’t really need to factory reset your smartphone because they’ve become smart enough that they don’t need this step after a few months or even years. So the most likely reason will be to sell your smartphone or trade it in. But before we get to the question of how to do this, we must first talk about a few things you should be aware of.

Before wiping your phone

The method below was performed on a Google Pixel 6 Pro running Android 12. The process is basically the same on all Android smartphones, but the wording may differ a bit. So hold it tight. And in the case of Samsung smartphones, you may be asked for your Samsung account password before you can reset it. This would only happen if you logged into said account.

Second, if you have an older phone, running an older version of Android, you may be asked for your ID after resetting it. This can be quite awkward if you’ve already traded it or if you’ve sent it to someone else. So a good thing to do would be to delete your Google account first (Settings > Account > Google), before resetting your phone. Although not necessary on newer phones, it’s still a good idea.

How to erase your Android smartphone

Now onto the main event, here is how you can wipe your Android smartphone and bring it back to factory settings. This will make it brand new, like the day you took it out of the box.

Go to settings.

Next, scroll down to System and tap it.

Screenshot 20220328 122311 Average

Then tap “Reset options”. It will be towards the bottom of the list.

Screenshot 20220328 122317 Average

On this next page, you will be presented with four choices:

  • Reset Wi-Fi, mobile and Bluetooth – this is a good option to choose if you are having connectivity issues.
  • Reset app preferences – this will restore all your default app and notification settings.
  • Delete downloaded SIMs – this refers to any eSIMs you may have on your device.
  • Erase all data (Factory Reset) – this option will erase everything on your phone, returning it to the state it was in out of the box.

Screenshot 20220328 122321 Medium

Choose “Erase All Data (Factory Reset)”.

Screenshot 20220328 122329 Average

On the next screen, your phone will tell you that it will erase all data from your phone’s internal storage. This includes:

  • Your Google Account
  • System and application data and settings
  • Downloaded apps
  • The music
  • Pictures
  • Other user data

Screenshot 20220328 122352 Medium

It also shows you the accounts you are logged in to, and you will obviously be logged out of those. Tap “Erase All Data”.

The next screen will ask for your PIN or password, if you have one on your phone. So enter that – it’s basically to make sure it was you and not a stranger who stole your phone.

Then this screen will ask you if you want to erase all data. Saying “All your personal information and downloaded apps will be deleted. You cannot undo this action. Tap “Erase all data”.

If your battery is running low, it will be a good idea to plug in your phone while this is being done. Some Android smartphones will not factory reset if the phone is too low and/or unplugged. The process will take a few minutes and then start like new. As a result, you will be able to set it up like a new phone.

And that’s all there is to it. This is how you can erase your Android smartphone and prepare it to sell, trade or even give it to a friend or family member.