Q: I need help backing up my photos. I have an Android phone that uploads photos from the phone to my Google Photos account. I was unable to transfer photos directly from my phone to my laptop (main storage site), so the only way to get them is to download them from the Google account to my laptop. After that, I want to delete them but I’m afraid that if I delete them from Google Photos account, I’ll delete them everywhere. I save the photos to my Dropbox account. I couldn’t find an answer in Google Photos Help.

Marty Byrne

A: If you delete photos from your Google Photos account, they will be deleted not only from this folder, but also from all devices you sync with and shared locations in Google Photos. If you backed up these photos, you can still recover them for 60 days.

Related Technical Questions and Answers

Learn more about Patrick Marshall here >>

To copy or move photos from your Android phone to your computer, simply connect the two using a USB cable. The phone will automatically appear in File Explorer, although its contents will not appear until you log into your phone. After that, you can access the folder on your phone where your photos are stored. Select the photos you want to move or copy to the computer, then right-click on them and drag the photos to the folder on the computer where you want to place them. When you release the mouse button, you can choose to move or copy them.

Q: Per your advice, I followed your instructions to move the Windows swap file from my SSD drive to an available SATA drive. After shutting down and restarting, it looks like the active swap file is now on the SATA drive. But I still see a swap file on the SSD drive, and when I try to delete it, I get a message that I can’t because it’s still in use. How do I go about reclaiming this space?

Walt Chrush, Edmonds

A: In fact, if this page file isn’t used, it shouldn’t take up much space.

If you still want to get rid of it, you need to run File Explorer as an administrator to remove it. To do this, navigate to C:Windows and locate Explorer.exe. Right-click on it and then click “Run as administrator”. Then you should be able to access Pagefile.sys and delete it.

Q: Where do my printer copies come from? Under the Devices and Printers utility in Control Panel, I have the Epson ET-2760, an Epson ET-2760 network (I assume it’s wireless). But I also have Epson ET-2760 Copy 2 and Copy 3. As far as I know, I haven’t assigned multiple copies, so I’m just curious why they are listed.

Kevin Howard

A: I was here. Sometimes, when the computer cannot communicate with the printer, the easiest way to get things done is to reinstall the printer. But if you reinstall the printer drivers without removing the printer from Devices and Printers, these copies will show up. This is the only explanation I know of for there being multiple copies.